top of page
Chiefs Of The Clan

Chiefs Of The Clan

Historical Chiefs of the Clan MacEwen of Otter

  1. MacEwen - I of Otter (Approx. 1200)

  2. Severan - II of Otter (Approx. 1222)

  3. Unknown

  4. Unknown

  5. Gillespie - V of Otter (Approx. 1315)

  6. Ewen - VI of Otter (?)

  7. John - VII of Otter (?)

  8. Walter - VII of Otter (?)

  9. Swene - IX of Otter (1429-1493)

Upon Swene’s death the Lands of Otter were transferred to Archibald, Earl of Argyll. From 1493 until the 1950’s the clan was Broken or Leaderless.  The actions of the Clan fell under the jurisdiction of the Dukes of Argyll and various other Clan Chiefs during this period.

Upon Successful completion of Matriculation,  Sir John R.H. McEwen will be the 10th Chief of the Name.

bottom of page